Book online and save


Experience the Islands

The island nations of Polynesia

Polynesia, which means "many islands," covers a roughly triangular-shaped geographical area of the Pacific Ocean, with Hawaii at the northern apex, Aotearoa or New Zealand in the southwest, and Rapa Nui or Easter Island in the southeast.

The Polynesian Triangle encompasses approximately 16 million square miles of ocean and includes thousands of islands, all of which were successfully explored and many colonized over 1,000 years ago. There are over 30 different groups of Polynesian people living within or near the Polynesian Triangle.

The Polynesian Cultural Center features the people and islands of Hawaii, Samoa, Aotearoa (Maori New Zealand), Fiji, the Marquesas, Tahiti, and Tonga; as well as a Rapa Nui exhibit and an 1850s-era Christian mission complex, all in a beautiful 42-acre setting that has been Hawaii's top paid-admission visitor attraction since 1977.

In addition, the Polynesian Cultural Center also provides information on several other Polynesian island groups, including the Cook Islands, Niue, the Tuamotu archipelago, Tuvalu, Wallis and Futuna.

Along with trying to accomplish our mission of preserving and portraying the cultures, arts, and crafts of Polynesia, we have a lot of fun every day. Please visit our family activities page to see how each village provides activities for guests of all ages, making the Polynesian Cultural Center Hawaii's #1 paid visitor attraction.